The NYFA Collection, Volume Two

The NYFA Collection, Volume Two

Celebrating the 30th anniversary of the NYFA's Fellowship Program
Laura Andel
Sylvie Courvoisier
Frank Carlberg
John Bacon
Mihoko Suzuki
Ben Gerstein
Judith Sloan
Svjetlana Bukvich
Anthony Gatto
Yotam Haber
Elliott Sharp Daniel Binelli
Carl Maguire
Andrew Drury
Laura Andel
Sylvie Courvoisier
Drew Gress
Julian Sartorius
Frank Carlberg Big Band
SUNY Fredonia Percussion Ensemble
Mihoko Suzuki
Hiroko Suzuki
Ben Gertsein
Jack Newman
Judith Sloan
Taylor Rivelli
Frank London
Kamala Sankaram
Svjetlana Bukvich
Holly Hansen
Adam Meckler Orchestra
David Bloom
Catalog Number: 
new classical
new music

New York, NY

Release Date: 
Nov 13, 2015
Liner Notes: 
1 CD
The NYFA Collection, Vol. 2iTunes Album Page
Song TitleTimePrice
1.Khartes 405:35$0.99
2.La Cigale (Live)05:58$0.99
3.March (Live)11:11
4.The Broken Branch Rag12:05
5.Ode to Number 1411:36
6.Berl Isaac07:28$0.99
7.What's Your Status?03:15$0.99
8.Interior Designs: Tattoo04:30$0.99
9.Wise Blood: Sabbath Lily02:04$0.99
10.We Were All09:08$0.99
One Sheet: 

The follow-up to 2010’s critically acclaimed NYFA Collection, The NYFA Collection: Volume Two collects works by the 2013 Music and Sound Fellows and presents a staggeringly broad swath of sonic territory: Fellini-esque circus music, a meditation on the exile of immigration status, guitar stabs and accordion solos, abstract jazz and new music piano, pop references, odes to molars and a bad storm, are just some of the paths explored by this diverse group of artists.

Over the last 30 years, the New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) has awarded over $27 million in unrestricted cash grants to over 4,400 artists, giving them the time to create, to be inspired and to inspire. The NYFA Collection: Volume Two continues the archiving and dissemination of the New York music collection, which began with The NYFA Collection: 25 Years of New York New Music (innova 233)—a collection DownBeat called a, “stunning document of historic culture.” Volume Two celebrates the 30th anniversary of NYFA’s Artist’s Fellowship Program by releasing ten tracks created/composed by the most recent class of Music and Sound Fellows. The recording has been curated by Cristian Amigo (composer-in-residence, INTAR Theater) and innova’s Philip Blackburn from work submitted by the composers themselves.

The through line in a collection as diverse as this is not found in tone or texture, but in its adventurous nature, in the unfettered possibilities of creative minds at work. Dive straight in, and enjoy.